Shabbychicfashion's Blog

My2 cents

A must! November 21, 2010

Filed under: Food & Drinks — shabbychicfashion @ 9:07 pm

Ok! So I just got back from Istanbul and I had the most incredible time! Sad to be back:(

I know this is not a food blog but there are a few things I must share with everyone. We went to Bursa (as mentioned in my previous blog) and after a trip around the town the family wanted to go to lunch so our driver took us to this place called Molla Yegan, which on the outside doesn’t look like much, but unfortunately I was sick that day and I couldn’t eat:(

The place from inside is really nicely decorated, the outdoor seating is traditional arabic dining with cushions on the floor with long tables in the middle, you even have to take your shoes off before sitting.

Even though my stomach couldn’t digest the mere scent of meat that day, I always manage to succumb to desserts, now you won’t find creme brulee or cheesecake available but there is knafeh. Let me mention, I hate middle eastern sweets but this knafeh is made fresh to order, and it was simply the best.

They bring the knafeh fresh and hot on a steel plate enough to share between 2 situated under A LOT of syrup and sprinkled with bits of pistachio on top. For someone who isn’t a fan of middle eastern desserts I was shocked that I was tempted to order another plate but my guilt of hard work out sessions at the gym kicked in so I didn’t but it was the most delicious thing I’d ever tasted, I can’t believe how good the food in Bursa was!!

Since I didn’t get to eat lunch at this restaurant I can’t judge the food but when 7 people all give rave reviews about their meals I’m gonna go ahead and say that this place is not one should miss.

If anyone gets the chance to get down there let me know if you’re interested for the address, I really hope everyone can experience the culinary delights that exist in Bursa!

 

Leave a Reply

