Shabbychicfashion's Blog

My2 cents

Update on Turkey November 18, 2010

Filed under: Food & Drinks — shabbychicfashion @ 9:45 am

Hi all!

Iam still away right now but just wanted to give an update on my travels and share something that is a shame to keep to myself!

We took a two day trip down to Bursa to see the mountains and all the nature that we’d heard so much about (it was disappointing to say the least) but it was nice because we are with a big group so its hard to feel bored.

Anyway, on our first day in Bursa we were waiting to get picked up and go to lunch somewhere, and we had heard that Turkey has something called Kebap (yes with a P) Iskender derived from its inventor, İskender Efendi, who lived in Bursa in the late 19th century so we decided to try it out. Now, let me just say that I am in no way shape or form a fan of meat but this restaurant offers only this dish so I tried it, and I think just then and there my taste buds went on a trip to heaven. It is the most delicious dish I have probably EVER had. What it is is beef strips (which I usually hate)basted with tomato sauce over pieces of fried pide bread on top with eggplant dip on one side and yogurt on the other. The waiter then brings out a pan of sizzling hot butter and sprinkles it on top of the meat. Talk about unhealthy!! But if anyone gets the chance to go I can’t stress enough how much you should not miss out on this amazing place.

If you get the chance to go to the one in Bursa you can see on the place mats the family tree of the man who originally created it and how it’s been handed down to the younger generations and now the place is being run by his great great great grandchildren!

Anyway that’s it so far! Ill be back soon!

 

Leave a Reply

