Shabbychicfashion's Blog

My2 cents

Layer it on November 10, 2010

Filed under: Accessories,Fashion,Latest trends — shabbychicfashion @ 9:53 pm

I am obsessed with winter fashion! It is so much more sophisticated than summer clothes where it can get so hot and sticky you would rather be taking things off than layering clothes on! The secret to get the ultimate winter fashion look is layering; now this is not an invitation to get every possible thing in your wardrobe pack it on and leave the house with a misguided sense that that is fashion, instead, stick to two pieces on top (excluding your thermal, and your coat).

Celebrities embracing the layering trend

I bought a dark grey sleeveless knit cardigen a long time ago from a store in Australia called Valleygirl, and underneath it I wore a long sleeve dusty pink top that has a few buttons on the sleeve for a little something extra and tied it all together with a dusty pink and black beltwith black tights and my favourite winter boots from ALDO (See my post about them “Winter has come again”). This look is understated and classy, I didn’t need to wear a coat with it because it wasn’t that cold. It’s really important to stick to the same colour tones if you’re going for something classy and chic, don’t get me wrong I am no fan of matching I think that looks hidious, but instead try to stick to the same colour palette.

Girly skirted coat from Topshop

I found this absaloutley gorgeous coat at Topshop (pictured left) that I could not resist and bought it home with me, it’s hanging in my wardrobe as we speak! It’s double  buttoned and the material feels very soft which is something I look for because anything in wool irritates my skin. It doesn’t matter what you have going on underneath and you don’t need to match the coat.

Belts are another must have if you’re looking to layer because you don’t want your clothes to just hang off you and it also sinches in the waist, and what girl doesn’t want to empahasise a smaller waist?  It can be in any size so go for it!

Another cute & gorgeous trend this season are the winter knitted beret hats. I bought myself one from Forever 21 in red to wear with my coat because it adds an amazing pop of colour whilst maintaining a chic winter look. You can find these anywhere but be sure to check out the collection at Forever 21 because they’re cheap & come in many colours.

Basic infinity scarves

An absaloute essential in winter are scarves, so why not wear them in style too? There are so many ways to wear scarves but don’t feel like you are restricted, experiment and see what looks best on you and what look you are going for. A new trend in this essential winter item is available to us now known  as infinity scarves. Infinity scarves are basically a loop of material with no ends that you can wrap around tight or keep as loose as you want. There are so many different colours and patterns available you can rest assured you will manage to find one to suit your outfit.

Don’t forget that just because it’s winter you can’t wear flattering skirts and dresses while still embracing the trend, in fact, dresses offer you the opportunity to be the most fashion forward. I bought a great Armani Exchange black gold and green dress I am yet to wear for winter, even though the fabric is soft, I would layer it with a great pair of black stockings H&M have a huge range from plain to patterned and a fantastic pair of ankle boots with your coat on top to keep warm.

So don’t forget to embrace the winter season ahead and don’t be afraid to experiment with different textures styles and colours! If you have a favourite winter trend please share, I’d love to hear it!

 

One Response to “Layer it on”

  1. bananaQ8 Says:

    Winter give more space for fashion & touch ups 🙂 but its also much more costly than summer 😉 interesting post thanks


Leave a Reply

