Shabbychicfashion's Blog

My2 cents

A new perspective November 9, 2010

Filed under: Arts and culture,TV & Movies — shabbychicfashion @ 4:48 pm

I’m sad to admit I never was a big fan of reading, I would always rather watch TV and that is because I never read anything really interesting and I am not a fan of the typical damsel in distress novel. I decided I really do want to start reading and take a break from TV so this past summer I got into a few books that were interesting, but none like Elizabeth Gilbert’s Eat Pray Love: One woman’s search for everything. I really don’t know what to say about this book other than the simple fact that it has literally changed my life. In quick, the book is about Elizabeth a 30 something year old who is getting out of a messy divorce and sets to help herself recover and discover so she goes on a journey for one year to Italy India and Indonesia. I won’t say any more because I don’t want to spoil it for anyone waiting to read it.

 

I don’t care much for peoples’  insulting opinions that Gilbert’s spiritual quest is forced or exaggerated to add more drama or that this is a desperate quest to be noted as an avant garde artist, it actually really bothers me because I find her writing and her experience so honest and at times truly heartbreaking.

Anyway what I love about this book is that it personally helped me realise and deal with many things in my life because at the core of it, it’s just a story about a woman trying to find herself and isn’t everyone? Now just because I want to find what makes me happy I won’t go doing the same thing she did because this is HER journey, and we must all make our own stories and experiences.

Author of Eat Pray Love Elizabeth Gilbert

I don’t want to write any more about it because I’m afraid I will get too excited and get into detail so all I will leave you with is I couldn’t recommend this story enough, it’s an amazing read and will fill your heart with so much compassion and love. I hope you all get out of it what I did and that is a deeper meaning to life and an urge to discover yourself.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

